Gift Card or Pre-Pay
Checkout a Gift Card

Would you like to purchase a Gift Card?

 
We Accept Paypal
 
 
 

Author Name    CLAYTON, MEG WAITE

Title   WEDNESDAY DAUGHTERS, THE

Binding   Paperback

Book Condition   GOOD / VERY GOOD

Publisher   

ISBN Number    0345530292 / 9780345530295

Seller ID   229957

PAPERBACK [CLAYTON, MEG WAITE]

More Description from Internet Sources--

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Fowler, Meg Waite Clayton, bestselling author of "The Wednesday Sisters, "returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations.
It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England's pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally--one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters--had used the cottage as a writer's retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows little about her mother's time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie, first introduced as little girls in "The Wednesday Sisters, "now grown women grappling with issues of a different era. They've come to help Hope sort through her mother's personal effects, yet what they find is a tangled family history--one steeped in Lake District lore.
Hope finds a stack of Ally's old notebooks tucked away in a hidden drawer, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally's writings--the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript--they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope's doubts about her marriage, Julie's grief over losing her twin sister, Anna Page's fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally's stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
"The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton's winning follow-up to "The Wednesday Sisters." From the beguiling Lake District setting, to a completely charming (and spot-on) portrayal of Beatrix Potter, to the way the Wednesday daughters strive to unpuzzle both their own choices and their mothers' legacies, every layer of the novel delivers. "The Wednesday Daughters "is utterly rich and satisfying."--Paula McLain, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Paris Wife"
"A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption. Clayton transports us to the English Lake District, an area rich in literary history and romance, where her characters' secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising."--J. Courtney Sullivan, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Commencement, Maine, " and" The Engagements"
"Beautiful storytelling . . . Meg Waite Clayton] delves deep into the human heart . . . and will] keep you hanging on until the very last page is turned."--"RT Book Reviews"
""The Wednesday Daughters" is a bewitching escape of a novel. The characters became my beloved companions. I wanted it never to end."--Elin Hilderbrand, author of "Beautiful Day"
"Heartwarming . . . filled with memorable characters."--"Bookreporter"
Selected as Recommended Summer Reading by" Chicago Tribune - Fort Worth Star-Telegram - San Jose Mercury News"

Price = 7.50 USD



Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to info@bluestockingbooks.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie