THOUGH HELL SHOULD BAR THE WAY

By: DRAKE, DAVID

Price: $14.00

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: GOOD / VERY GOOD


C2018 VERY GOOD++ HARDBACK IN VG++ DUSTJACKET [DRAKE, DAVID]


More Description from Internet Sources--


A NEW NOVEL IN THE NATIONALLY BEST-SELLING RCN MILITARY SF SERIES. David Drake, Dean of Military Science Fiction, returns with another entry in his best-selling RCN series.

FROM WEALTH AND POWER, TO POVERTY AND INSULTS

Roy Olfetrie planned to be an officer in the Republic of Cinnabar Navy, but when his father was unmasked as a white-collar criminal he had to take whatever he was offered.

What is offered turns out to be a chance to accompany Captain Daniel Leary and Lady Adele Mundy as they go off to start a war that will put Roy at the sharp end.

Duty snatches Roy from the harem of a pirate chief to a world of monsters, from interstellar reaches in a half-wrecked starship to assassination attempts at posh houses. Roy has the choice of making friends or dying friendless; of meeting betrayal and responding to it; of breaking his faith or keeping it at the risk of his life.

Pirates, politics, and spies--and waiting for Roy if he survives all the rest, a powerful warship.

The action doesn't slow--nor can Roy, for if he does the only question is which of the many threats will be the one to catch and kill him. But Captain Leary himself has given Roy a chance, and Roy is determined make the most of it--THOUGH HELL SHOULD BAR THE WAY.

Praise for Though Hell Should Bar the Way:

"Though Hell Should Bar the Way is vastly entertaining, a tale that demonstrates Drake's skill as an author, illustrating why Drake is one of the best living science fiction authors today."--The Daily News of Galveston County

About David Drake's RCN series:

" R]ousing old-fashioned space opera."--Publishers Weekly

"The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more "--Philadelphia Weekly Press

" S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along...character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs."--SFReader.com

"Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera." --Publishers Weekly

About David Drake:

" P]rose as cold and hard as the metal alloy of a tank...rivals Crane and Remarque..."--Chicago Sun-Times

"Drake couldn't write a bad action scene at gunpoint."--Booklist

RCN series:

With the Lightnings

Lt. Leary, Commanding

The Far Side of the Stars

The Way to Glory

Some Golden Harbor

When the Tide Rises

In the Stormy Red Sky

What Distant Deeps

The Road of Danger

The Sea Without a Shore

Death's Bright Day

Though Hell Should Bar the Way

Title: THOUGH HELL SHOULD BAR THE WAY

Author Name: DRAKE, DAVID

Categories: Science Fiction & Fantasy,

Publisher: BAEN:

ISBN Number: 1481483137

ISBN Number 13: 9781481483131

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: GOOD / VERY GOOD

Seller ID: 241822

Keywords: C2018 VERY GOOD++ HARDBACK IN VG++ DUSTJACKET,